Wednesday, March 17, 2004

XLRI’s Peace Medal for Missionaries of Charity

* To be presented on March 26 during the 48th Annual Convocation

XLRI’s Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Industrial and Social Peace for the year 2004 will be conferred on the Congregation of the Missionaries of Charity, Kolkata established by Mother Teresa. The Medal will be presented during the Forty Eighth Annual Convocation to be held on March 26, 2004 at the Institute. Sister Nirmala, M. C., Superior General of the Missionaries of Charity will receive it on behalf of the Congregation during the Ceremony. For the first time in its history and in a break from tradition, the Medal is being conferred on an Organisation. The Medal was instituted by XLRI Jamshedpur in 1966, and the Missionaries of Charity is its Thirty Seventh recipient.

“Through its noble work for the most needy and poor people, the Congregation of the Missionaries of Charity has brought peace, dignity and happiness to lakhs of people all over the world. Therefore, the Board of Governors [XLRI] felt that this year’s Medal should be awarded to the Missionaries of Charity,” said Father P D Thomas, Director, XLRI Jamshedpur, announcing the Medal on behalf of the Board of Governors.

The Medal will be presented by Mr B Muthuraman, Chairman of the Board of Governors, XLRI and Managing Director, Tata Steel, in the presence of the Chief Guest and Convocation Speaker, Dr J J Irani, Director, Tata Sons.

Previous recipients of the Medal include illustrious names from diverse fields such as J R D Tata, Arvind Mafatlal, Holck-Larsen, Rajmohan Gandhi, V R Krishna Iyer, S Moolgaonkar, P N Bhagwati, V Kurien, Keshub Mahindra, P A Sangma, Jyoti Basu, N A Palkhivala, J N Godrej, Brijmohan Lall Munjal and M S Banga.

No comments: